Beef or Pork gelatin?

  • 7
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Observing Muslims and Jews can't eat porcine gelatin, as it is against their religion. I was wondering what kind of gelatin is used in Pop Tarts.
Photo of AD

AD

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • concerned

Posted 3 years ago

  • 7
Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Official Rep

  • 2820 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
AD- thank you for taking the time to post your question. We are aware that due to religion some folks restrict pork &/or beef; our frosted Pop-Tart® varieties contain beef as the source of gelatin. However our Plain (unfrosted) Pop-Tarts® do not contain any gelatin, and could be a good alternative.
Photo of Kylie

Kylie

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Official Rep

  • 2820 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
Kylie- you're correct, most of our Pop-Tarts® do contain gelatin, however the unfrosted tarts do not, and I hope you find these a great alternative. At Kellogg’s we are always looking for ways to produce our foods so that more folks can enjoy them, regardless of dietary needs or preferences. Keep an eye out.
Photo of Kylie

Kylie

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I already knew that there are unfrosted poptarts without gelatin. I am saying that you guys should make all of the frosted poptarts somehow either by A.) taking out the gelatin or B.) substituting the gelatin with something else, maybe xantham gum or something. Also there are only a few flavors that are unfrosted. There should be more of a variety.
Photo of Heidi

Heidi

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
what kind of gelatin is found in your fruit flavoured snacks?.
Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Official Rep

  • 2820 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
Heidi- Our fruit snacks are made with both beef and pork gelatin, interchangeably, due to the limited availability of beef. I apologize for the inconvenience.
Photo of zarina

zarina

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
i want to know the exact source of gelatin in your fruit flavoured snacks

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
source of gelatin.
Photo of shelana

shelana

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
In an effort to avoid animal by- products in food my family consumes, can you tell me the source of the gelatin in your cereals? Most companies use animal by-products for the gelatin. What is used in your products? We like the frosted mini wheats and would love to continue to serve them. Thank you

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
How is the gelatin made?.
Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Official Rep

  • 2820 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
Shelana- you're correct gelatin is derived from collagen protein of either pork or beef. Our Unfrosted Mini-Wheats® are the only option free of animal by products.
Photo of Salima

Salima

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Can you please let me know what type of gelatin is used in making frosted mini-wheats, pork or beef?

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
What type of gelatin - pork or beef?.
Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Official Rep

  • 2820 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
Salima- our Kellogg's® Frosted Mini-Wheats® cereal are made with beef gelatin.
Photo of somaa

somaa

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I used to eat your Vanilla Almond Cereals every morning until I read online that you use a product which include something from pork. I stopped until I'm sure there is no pork products in my vanilla almond. Please answer me quickly, I miss my regular breakfast. thanks

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Do you use any pork products in vanilla almond cereals ?.
Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Official Rep

  • 2820 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
Somaa- our Kellogg's Special K® Cereal Vanilla Almond are certified Kosher/Parve; indicating they do not contain pork.
You can find a list on http://www.fafh.com/Home/ToolDetail/192, which is updated annually. For the most current information, always check the box.
Photo of Shari

Shari

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Will you please verify that both pop tarts and frosted mini wheats are still being made using only beef gelatin (no pork)? Thank you. We have avoided them for 7 years now, but were just told they didn't have pork in them. If they are, I recommend that the label be modified to specifically say "beef gelatin" for all the others out there that don't know.
Photo of Steve

Steve, Official Rep

  • 3236 Posts
  • 71 Reply Likes
Hi Shari, our Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts® and Kellogg's® Frosted Mini-Wheats® cereal contain gelatin derived from beef. Also, our Plain (unfrosted) Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® do not contain any gelatin ingredient.

I’ll pass along your comments regarding your labeling request. Thanks!

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.